Mise à jour sur la sécurité alimentaire

L’accès alimentaire s’améliore grâce à une production céréalière en hausse

Décembre 2015
2015-Q4-1-1-ML-en

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

Pays de présence:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Pays suivis à distance:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

Messages clés

  • La hausse de la production agricole de 15 pourcent par rapport à 2014/2015 et de 27 pourcent par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale favorise une disponibilité céréalière auprès des ménages et un approvisionnement satisfaisant des marchés avec des prix stables ou en baisse par rapport au mois dernier. La majorité des ménages du pays se trouve actuellement dans une situation d’insécurité alimentaire Minimale (Phase 1 de l’IPC) jusqu’en mars 2016.

  • Les ménages pauvres victimes des inondations de juillet à septembre 2015 estimés à 15 000 à travers le pays connaitront un épuisement précoce de leurs stocks à cause des pertes de cultures et seront dans une situation d’insécurité alimentaire de Stress (Phase 2 de l’IPC) à partir de mars 2016.

  • Les ménages pasteurs pauvres de Tombouctou et de Gao qui connaissent une réduction de la taille de leur cheptel à cause des mortalités élevées de la soudure passée et des ventes excessives des dernières années de crise seront en situation d’insécurité alimentaire de Stress (Phase 2 de l’IPC) à partir de mars 2016.

Situation Actuelle

Campagne agricole :

Les récoltes pour les céréales sèches à travers le pays sont pratiquement terminées et se poursuivent jusqu’en janvier pour le riz. La production céréalière 2015/2016 est supérieure de 15 pourcent par rapport à celle de l’année dernière et de 27 pourcent par rapport à la moyenne des cinq dernières années (Source : CPS/SDR) mais avec des poches de déficits localisées par endroits dues à la mauvaise répartition spatio-temporelle des pluies et aux inondations. Cette hausse de la production agricole permet une disponibilité céréalière auprès des ménages et sur les marchés. Par ailleurs, les ménages victimes d’inondations des cercles de Kita, Kolokani, Macina, Nara, Tominian, San, Mopti, Nioro, Gao, Ménaka et Douentza estimés environ à 15 000 personnes disposent actuellement des récoltes inférieures à la moyenne à cause des dégâts sur leurs cultures. En outre, les activités de maraichage ont démarré à travers le pays avec des perspectives moyennes à bonnes notamment pour le plateau d’eau Dogon où le niveau de remplissage des barrages est jugé satisfaisant en cette période.

La situation pastorale est marquée par un bon état des pâturages et des points d’eau pérennes. L’état d’embonpoint des animaux, le niveau des productions animales, et les revenus pastoraux sont globalement moyens à bons même si les années successives de crise ont réduit la taille de troupeaux et le potentiel vendable chez les ménages pauvres. Les mouvements des animaux sont normaux et la situation zoo sanitaire est relativement calme dans l’ensemble.

Marchés et prix :

Les marchés céréaliers fonctionnent normalement avec l’augmentation du niveau de l’offre de céréales par rapport aux mois passés grâce à l’arrivée des nouvelles récoltes. La demande reste moyenne dans les centres urbains mais en baisse saisonnière dans les zones de productions grâce à la propre production des ménages. Par conséquent, le prix des céréales en fin décembre sur la plupart des marchés suivis est en baisse ou stable par rapport au mois passé. Par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale en fin décembre, le prix du mil est en baisse de 13 pour cent à Bamako, 11 pour cent à Sikasso, 5 pour cent à Tombouctou, 10 pour cent à Gao et en légère hausse à Mopti (6 pour cent) et stable à Koulikoro et Ségou. Le prix du sorgho est en hausse à Kayes de 6 pour cent et à Goundam de 36 pour cent. Le prix élevé du sorgho à Goundam affecte négativement l’accès des pauvres à cette denrée.

Les marchés à bétail sont bien approvisionnés. Le prix en fin novembre de la chèvre est stable à Gao, Bourem, et Rharous par rapport au mois passé mais en hausse de 15 pourcent à Nara et 10 pourcent à Niafunké. Par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale, il est aussi en hausse de 24 pourcent à Gao, 14 pourcent à Nara et 50 pourcent à Niafunké. Par conséquent, les termes de l’échange chèvre/mil sont en hausse de 24 pourcent à Gao, 21 pourcent à Nara et 26 pourcent à Rharous par rapport à la moyenne et favorisent l’accès des pasteurs aux marchés.

Insécurité et mouvements des populations :

La situation sécuritaire reste marquée par des attaques isolées qui perturbent la libre circulation des personnes et des biens à travers les régions du Nord et du Centre du pays; ce qui réduit le volume des activités économiques et les opportunités de main d’œuvre qui en sont issues au profit des ménages pauvres qui en dépendent.

Le retour des personnes déplacées et des réfugiés se poursuit dans les régions du Nord. A la date du 31 octobre 2015, on dénombrait au total 62 000 personnes (selon OCHA) qui sont dans un besoin d’appui en vue de faciliter leur réintégration socio-économique dans leurs zones d’origine. 

Perspective estimée jusqu'à mars 2016

La propre production et les paiements en nature moyens à bons augurent la disponibilité des denrées auprès des ménages et sur les marchés. La baisse amorcée des prix de céréales et les termes de l’échange favorables aux éleveurs permettent l’accès des ménages aux denrées. Par conséquent, la majorité des ménages du pays se trouve dans une situation d’insécurité alimentaire Minimale (Phase 1 de l’IPC), de décembre jusqu’en mars 2016.

Les ménages victimes des inondations de juillet à septembre 2015 et ayant connu des pertes de biens et de cultures arrivent à satisfaire actuellement leurs besoins alimentaires grâce à leurs récoltes bien que faibles et la solidarité locale. Ces ménages auront des difficultés à partir de mars 2016 pour couvrir convenablement leurs besoins alimentaires et feront recours à des stratégies d’adaptation inhabituelles. Par conséquent, ils seront en insécurité alimentaire de Stress (Phase 2 de l’IPC) à partir de mars 2016.

Les ménages pasteurs pauvres des régions de Tombouctou et de Gao qui ont connu une réduction importante de la taille de leur cheptel à cause des mortalités excessives de la soudure pastorale passée et des ventes élevées des dernières années de crise sont actuellement dans une situation d’insécurité alimentaire Minimale (Phase 1 de l’IPC) grâce à la disponibilité des revenus pastoraux et aux bons termes d’échange qui leurs sont favorables. Toutefois, la baisse des revenus pastoraux suite à la dégradation des conditions d’élevage à partir de mars 2016 et le nombre limité de têtes vendables amèneront ces ménages dans une situation d’insécurité alimentaire de Stress (Phase 2 de l’IPC) à partir de mars 2016.

Les ménages pauvres déplacées et réfugiés de retour dans leurs zones d’origine ont des difficultés à s’intégrer dans le circuit socio-économique. Par conséquent, des appuis humanitaires en vivres et non vivres s’avèrent nécessaires pour éviter que leur situation de Stress (Phase 2 de l’IPC) passe en phase de Crise (Phase 3 de l’IPC) et leur faciliter leur intégration dans le tissu économique local.

À Propos de ce Rapport

Cette mise à jour sur la sécurité alimentaire est un rapport mensuel sur les conditions actuelles et des changements sur les perspectives projetées de l'insécurité alimentaire dans ce pays. Il met à jour les Perspectives sur la sécurité alimentaires de FEWS NET. Pour en savoir plus sur notre travail, cliquez ici.

About FEWS NET

Le Réseau des systèmes d’alerte précoce contre la famine est l’un des principaux prestataires d’alertes précoces et d’analyses de l’insécurité alimentaire. Constitué par l’USAID en 1985 pour aider les décideurs à planifier pour les crises humanitaires, FEWS NET fournit des analyses factuelles  concernant quelque 35 pays. Les membres des équipes de mise en œuvre incluent la NASA, la NOAA, le département américain de l ‘Agriculture (USDA) et le gouvernement des États-Unis (USGS), de même que Chemonics International Inc. et Kimetrica. Vous trouverez d’autres informations sur notre travail.

  • USAID Logo
  • USGS Logo
  • USDA Logo
  • NASA Logo
  • NOAA Logo
  • Kilometra Logo
  • Chemonics Logo

Food Security Outlook Update

Improvement in food access due to above-average cereal production

December 2015
2015-Q4-1-1-ML-en

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Would likely be at least one phase worse without current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

Presence countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Remote monitoring
countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

Key Messages

  • This year’s 15 percent increase in crop production compared to the 2014/2015 season and 27 percent increase compared to the five-year average is helping to improve household cereal availability and provide adequate market supplies at stable or lower prices than last month’s levels. As a result, most households will experience Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity between now and March 2016.

  • The estimated 15,000 poor households across the country affected by flooding between July and September 2015 will prematurely deplete their food stocks due to their crop losses. This will drive Stressed (IPC Phase 2) food insecurity for these households starting in March 2016.

  • Poor pastoral households in Timbuktu and Gao whose livestock herds were reduced by the high animal mortality rates during the last lean season and excessive animal sales over the past several crisis years will also face Stressed (IPC Phase 2) food insecurity starting in March 2016.

Current Situation

Growing season:

Harvests of coarse grain crops across the country are nearly completed, while rice harvests will extend through the month of January. Cereal production for 2015/2016 is up from last year by 15 percent and 27 percent above the five-year average (Source: CPS/SDR). However, there are scattered pockets of localized production deficits due to the poor spatial-temporal distribution of rainfall and flooding problems. The increases in crop production are improving cereal availability at the household level and on local markets. However, flood-affected households in Kita, Kolokani, Macina, Nara, Tominian, San, Mopti, Nioro, Gao, Ménaka, and Douentza departments, estimated at approximately 15,000 people, have below-average harvests on account of the flood damage to their crops. Market gardening activities have started up across the country, with average to good harvest prospects, particularly in water conservation areas on the Dogon Plateau where water levels in dams are deemed adequate for this time of year.

An examination of the situation in pastoral areas shows pastures and year-round watering holes are in good condition. In general, livestock body conditions, animal production levels, and pastoral incomes are average to good despite smaller herds and limited sales potential of poor households after the past few crisis years. Herd movements are normal and, in general, animal health conditions are relatively stable.

Markets and prices:

Cereal markets are functioning normally, and there are larger cereal supplies compared with the past few months with the influx of fresh crops from ongoing harvests. Demand in urban areas is still average, but there is a seasonal decline in demand in agricultural areas due to household-level crop production. As a result, as of the end of December, cereal prices on most tracked markets were either down or stable compared to figures for the previous month. Millet prices as of the end of December were below the five-year average by 13 percent in Bamako, 11 percent in Sikasso, five percent in Timbuktu, and 10 percent in Gao, slightly above the five-year average in Mopti (by six percent), and similar to the average in Koulikoro and Ségou. Sorghum prices were above-average by six percent in Kayes and 36 percent in Goundam. The high price of sorghum in Goundam is negatively affecting poor households’ access to this foodstuff in this area.

Livestock markets are well-stocked with animals at this time. Goat prices as of the end of November were unchanged from the previous month in Gao, Bourem, and Rharous, but were up by 15 percent in Nara and 10 percent in Niafunké. They were also above the five-year average by 24 percent in Gao, 14 percent in Nara, and 50 percent in Niafunké. Accordingly, goat-to-millet terms of trade are 24 percent above-average in Gao, 21 percent above-average in Nara, and 26 percent above-average in Rharous, which is helping to improve market access for pastoralists.

Security problems and population movements:

The security situation is still marked by isolated attacks, which are disrupting the free movement of people and goods across the northern and central reaches of the country, reducing the volume of economic activity and limiting associated employment opportunities for poor households dependent on wage labor.

There is a steady flow of IDPs and refugees returning to northern areas of the country. According to estimates by OCHA, as of October 31, 2015, a total of 62,000 people were in need of assistance to help facilitate their socioeconomic reintegration into their home areas.

Updated Assumptions

Projected Outlook through March 2016

Average to good household crop production and in-kind wages should translate into good food availability on local markets and at the individual household level. The downward trend in cereal prices and favorable terms of trade for pastoralists are helping to facilitate household food access. As a result, most households across the country will experience Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity between December and March 2016.

Household harvests, though limited, and community assistance networks are presently enabling flood-affected households who suffered losses of crops and assets between July and September 2015 to meet their food needs. However, starting in March 2016, these households will have difficulty properly meeting their food needs and will resort to atypical coping strategies. Accordingly, they will begin to face Stressed (IPC Phase 2) levels of food insecurity starting in March 2016.

With the availability of pastoral income and favorable terms of trade, poor pastoral households in the Timbuktu and Gao areas whose herd sizes were reduced by the disproportionately high numbers of animal deaths during the last pastoral lean season and large levels of animal sales over the past few crisis years are currently experiencing Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity. However, the reduction in pastoral income with the deterioration in pastoral conditions starting in March 2016 and their limited number of marketable animals will propel these households into the Stressed (IPC Phase 2) food insecurity in March.

Poor IDP and refugee households returning to their home areas are having difficulty mainstreaming into socioeconomic life. Accordingly, they will require humanitarian food and nonfood assistance to prevent their Stressed (IPC Phase 2) food insecurity from deteriorating into Crisis (IPC Phase 3) and to help facilitate their integration back into the local economic environment.

About this Update

This monthly report covers current conditions as well as changes to the projected outlook for food insecurity in this country. It updates FEWS NET’s quarterly Food Security Outlook. Learn more about our work here.

About FEWS NET

The Famine Early Warning Systems Network is a leading provider of early warning and analysis on food insecurity. Created by USAID in 1985 to help decision-makers plan for humanitarian crises, FEWS NET provides evidence-based analysis on approximately 30 countries. Implementing team members include NASA, NOAA, USDA, USGS, and CHC-UCSB, along with Chemonics International Inc. and Kimetrica.
Learn more About Us.

Link to United States Agency for International Development (USAID)Link to the United States Geological Survey's (USGS) FEWS NET Data PortalLink to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Link to National Aeronautics and Space Administration's (NASA) Earth ObservatoryLink to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) National Weather Service, Climage Prediction CenterLink to the Climate Hazards Center - UC Santa BarbaraLink to KimetricaLink to Chemonics